Posts by LucM1

University of Stirling Archives launches crowdfunding campaign for African Archive

The University of Stirling Archives has launched its first crowdfunding campaign to open up the Peter Mackay Archive. Mackay (1926-2013) was a tireless campaigner for African liberation, becoming politically active shortly after emigrating to Rhodesia in 1948. Following his death in Zimbabwe in 2013 the archive was carefully packed up by his family and shipped to Stirling. Mackay’s family hailed from the town of Doune, near Stirling, and it was his wish that the university become the custodians of his papers.

The campaign will run until the 24th January 2017 on the Crowdfunder website. Our target of £8,000 will support the essential work of cataloguing, conservation and digitisation, which will improve access to this new resource. Further details can be found at:

Karl Magee

University Archivist

University of Stirling

New apartheid archives subject guide at Senate House Library

Senate House Library, University of London, has created a new subject guide to its archive collections relating to apartheid which can be found at . The Library holds a number of important collections including the papers of journalist and political activist Ruth First (some of whose papers have been digitised) and of civil rights campaigner and author Mary Benson. A recently catalogued collection is the papers of economist Ronnie Bethlehem (1935-1997) which cover sanctions, monetary policy, responses to the state of emergency, the transition to democracy and the restructuring of the South African economy.

The subject guide links to the catalogues of individual collections which give conditions of access.

Seminar on the British Library’s African Collections

On 10 November 2016 Dr Marion Wallace, Curator of African Collections at the British Library and former Chair of SCOLMA, will be giving a seminar at the African Studies Centre Leiden on the experience of curating the West Africa exhibition, ‘West Africa: Word, Symbol, Song’, which was held at the British Library from October 2015 to February 2016. The exhibition traced one thousand years of West African history and brought together books, manuscripts, artworks, sound recordings and film. The seminar will also cover the British Library’s African collections in general and explain how researchers can access them. More details can be found at